Java Runtime Environment (JRE) Installation Woes

I’m calling out to the greater IT community for some generous help with my JRE installation. I was prompted to install the latest JRE 6 Update 3 which I duly abided. After the installation, I realised that I can’t run Java applets within Firefox but it works perfectly on IE 7.

The Java installation help is poor and the FAQ doesn’t describe my problem (Works on IE but not FF). This is so bizarre! Check out my screen shots which is linked to larger version.

Does anyone know what is the problem and how I can fix it? I tried uninstall and reinstall the file but still the same issue.

1. Runs properly on IE

IE-Java-installed

2. Breaks in Firefox

Firefox-Java-Not-Installed-1 Firefox-Java-Not-Installed-2

3. JRE Settings – Only 1 version, pointing to the right directory location

Java-Runtime-Settings

Leave a Reply

