Microsoft KB – Your Online Tech Buddy

Everyone has a tech buddy, so do I. My online tech buddy is the Microsoft Support Knowledge Base (KB).

Guy clipping iPod shuffle to his sleeve I received a iPod Shuffle for Christmas this year and so I had to install iTunes. I was a bit weary of installing another media player, like I want to deal with another media standard too. Oh well🙂

I installed iTunes, charged up my Shuffle (nicknamed “i-Berno”) and began to move my WMA from my external USB hard disk to the iTunes Music library. After a reboot, Windows Explorer doesn’t seem to detect my trusty external hard disk anymore. I suspect iTunes messed up my machine registry.

Crack up the trusty Microsoft Support Knowledge Base and found a simple registry hack from this KB article “A computer that is running Windows XP cannot detect a USB thumb drive, an Apple iPod, or an external hard disk drive“. Problem solved.

I’m going to spend the rest of this wash out day reading my new book and listening onto my shuffle.

Leave a Reply

