A Trip to Linux Conf Au Open Day

This arvo, I made a trip to the 2007 Linux Conf Open Day in UNSW as part of my compete research. I went undercover ie no MSFT gear on me as I believe in hands on approach to matters. Personal and direct interaction with my audience and competes, is the best way to know them.

The Open Day was an opportunity for the general public to interact with Open Source technologies. The line-up was impressive – movie making, robots, solar panel cars, and digital music. The usual Microsoft compete companies were there too including Google which had a job desk. A System Admin from Mountain View there to interact with the attendees.

I really enjoyed attending this event, and it exposed me to new ideas and ways how others are engaging the academic community. What works and what doesn’t. What are the things that generates the buzz in the community and the things that can really turn them off. It was a very good learning trip, unfortunately I can’t stay longer to attend the full conference.

Leave a Reply

