Veni, Vidi, Vici

This morning, I took part in the 2007 Manly Wharf Hotel Ocean Swim. There was a slight earlier drizzle, the sky was grey and glommy but I was still looking forward to my first ocean swim. I registered for the 1km novice category, since I had never done such an event, and just hoped for the best.

The swim started from Shelley Beach, across Cabbage Tree Bay, around Manly Point and into Manly beach. Along the way, I saw lots of fishes. I felt like a big whale swimming among the school of little fishes. Towards the beach, I got caught in a swell which took me by surprise. Maybe its that thrill that drives those surfers.

In the end, I completed the distance and made it back onto the beach. Good experience but next time I want to take at least 4mins of the time because I wasted a lot of time trying to get acquainted with the event and environment itself. Such factors with proper training can be easily overcome.

manly-ocean-swim-2007.jpg

3 thoughts on “Veni, Vidi, Vici

  1. Pingback: Sydney Mardi Gras 2007 « Another Day in the Antz Farm

  2. Pingback: Balmoral Swim 2008 « Another Day in the Antz Farm

Leave a Reply

