Greetings from Hong Kong

high-density-housing-hong-kong.jpg

Greeting from 香港 – Hong Kong! My first impression of the global Asian city is its high density housing. It’s came as quite a shock to me even as a Singaporean who lived in public housing apartment all my life. But in most ways, it almost felt like being back home in Singapore. The hustle and bustle, the familiar Chinese and English writings, the variety of Chinese food, clean modern public transport. Only catch, I don’t speak Cantonese😛

I have free wifi and Internet in my hotel but I’m not going to stay here and blog all day! Off to hit the streets and experience the real Hong Kong.

Background info about Hong Kong (taken from Lonely Planet)

Hong Kong has the big city specials like smog, odour, 14 million elbows and an insane love of clatter. But it’s also efficient, hushed and peaceful: the transport network is excellent, the shopping centres are sublime, and the temples and quiet corners of parks are contemplative oases.

The best thing about being in Hong Kong is getting flummoxed and fired by the confluences and contradictions of a Chinese city with multi-Asian and Western elements. It’s about savouring new tastes, weaving through a human gridlock and humming some dumb Cantopop tune while slurping your noodles.

5 thoughts on “Greetings from Hong Kong

  1. Hong Kong is one of my favorite cities in the world. It’s just gotten so prohibitively expensive lately! Over the summer, I found out that it was cheaper to rent a one-bedroom flat in London than a hotel room in Hong Kong (airfare is a different story). Pity–I really love Hong Kong.

  2. Good evening, Berno
    I am a lecturer in the Town & Regional Planning Department at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology in Cape Town, South Africa. I lecture Language & Communication.
    My students are writing a test, and the theme is high density housing as Cape Town is considering this option for its thousands of people who live in informal settlements.
    I have taken the liberty – please forgive! – of using your image of Hong Kong’s high density housing which I found on this site. As the students are writing tomorrow, I did not have time to contact you far enough in advance in order to ask for your permission.
    Regards.
    Monika Rohlwink

Leave a Reply

