Picture of the Day – St Anthony of Padua

P6090143
– I took this picture of my patron saint during my visit to Macau on 9 Jun 2007 in the Cathedral Church

Today (June 13), the Church celebrates the feast of St. Anthony of Lisbon (more popularly referred as St Anthony of Padua). St Anthony was not only a scholar but also brilliant orator.

When the vault in which for thirty years his sacred body had reposed was opened, the flesh was found reduced to dust but the tongue uninjured, fresh, and of a lively red colour. St. Bonaventure, beholding this wonder … exclaiming: “O Blessed Tongue that always praised the Lord, and made others bless Him, now it is evident what great merit thou hast before God.”Catholic Encyclopedia

3 thoughts on “Picture of the Day – St Anthony of Padua

  1. My name is Helena (I live in Malaysia) and I’ve long prayed and believed in the power of St Anthony. Both my deceased grandfathers had great faith in St Anthony. I know I probably should have recognised that St Anthony is the patron saint of my family long ago. It has however, taken me a long time to recognise this fact, too long actually. But yesterday, in my heart I took St Anthony as the patron saint of our family. I thank you very much for posting this beautiful picture and I will use it as the wallpaper of my computer (I hope you don’t mind). God bless you!

Leave a Reply

