The latest jobs blarney comes out in the wash – a tale of changing job conditions

We have all heard about Gen Y, the 18-26 crowd, can’t be trusted with a proper job until they have grown up. They are too selfish, flighty, too lacking in loyalty, and too egocentric to handle.

But is it the young people who have changed so much, or is it the job market?

The latest jobs blarney comes out in the wash (Opinion, SMH)

One thought on “The latest jobs blarney comes out in the wash – a tale of changing job conditions

  1. I don’t agree with the comment that Gen Y lacks loyalty. If myself and others where I am currently (name hidden to protect the innocent) lacked loyalty, we would have been gone a long time ago. The issue is the employers see us as this, and punish as accordingly. I have been told by several they they couldn’t trust me because I am GenY, and of course, they couldnt rely on me staying. The other issue I have is that, as a group, I see alot of very knowledgable and intellengent people, who have the know how and in alot of cases experience of people who have been in the industry for years, this should be taken into account. I also know several people that I in very senior roles, yet paied at ver junior roles, if employeers want to keep them, they need to pay them accordingly.

Leave a Reply

