2007 Melbourne Half Marathon – 1.51:40

melbourne-marathon-2007.jpg

Last weekend, I was back in Melbourne to take part in the 30th Melbourne (Half) Marathon. It was my first attempt at this event and my first half marathon for the year. This event was special because I took part in the event with the company of my close Honours gang and we finished off inside the magnificent MCG (Melbourne Cricket Ground). The route is marvellous, across the city, along St Kilda Road, the Royal Botanic Garden, Albert Park (the F1 Melbourne Grand Prix track) onto the Port Phillip Bay, St Kilda beach and back to the city and onto the hallowed turf of the MCG.

PA070074

Rafi, Adam and I signed up for the half marathon (21.1km) while Shelvia (and her better half Shanon) and Dhaminda participated in the 5.5km event. I was elevated when I realised that I had achieved a new personal best (PB) of 1:51:40. I was very pleased with that result🙂

Monash had a marquee organised for the event and we we had our own private baggage storage and a Monash-branded Puma running top. The Monash Sports crew even provided free breakfast and massages too. Sweet!

Here are a selection of the photos taken during the event and the weekend back “home” in Melbourne. Click on the image for enlarged version and the entire set can be found here – http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardoh/sets/72157602315144278/

PA070094 PA060011 PA060005 PA070065 PA070062 PA070073 Melbourne-Half-Marathon-Race-Result-071007.png

2 thoughts on “2007 Melbourne Half Marathon – 1.51:40

Leave a Reply

