Climbing to the top of Singapore – 2008 Swissotel Vertical Marathon

7c-Singapore-River-CBD

This is the view of the Singapore financial district from the very top of South-east Asia’s tallest hotel – Swissotel the Stamford.

This morning, I took apart in my first “Swissotel Vertical Marathon“. Having trained (in)consistently in the gym’s Stairmaster on 4 grand occasions, I felt I was all set to attempt my tallest challenge – a 73-storey climb.

The overall turnout was huge. I was proud to see the encouraging numbers of female participants. The event emcee also mentioned that there were about 150 nationalities registered for this event.

I maintained an easy pace during the climb and the result was 13mins 53secs. I reckon next year I want to achieve 13min 15secs timing.

Here is a selection of the pictures taken during the 2008 Swissotel Vertical Marathon in Singapore.

1-swissotel-the-stamford 2-berno-event-stand
5-berno-bertram-finisher
10-mens-open-swissotel-vertical-marathon-queue

Related link: 1,500 take part in Swissotel Vertical Marathon (Channel NewsAsia)

One thought on “Climbing to the top of Singapore – 2008 Swissotel Vertical Marathon

Leave a Reply

