“I had just my Bonds undies on. I felt vulnerable’ said Aussie Hero

A Canberra man was described as a hero for wrestling a kangaroo out of his house in his Bond undies after being woken in the early hours by the marsupial smashing in.

Beat Ettlin, 42, who lives in the leafy suburb of Garran,   awoke to the sound of glass splintering and saw a dark shape bounding on his bed about 2 am (AEDT) yesterday .

“My initial thought when I was half awake was: it’s a lunatic ninja coming through the window,” the 42-year-old Mr Ettlin told Associated Press.
As he struggled to comprehend what was happening he was spurred to action moments later when his 10-year-old son Leighton Beman screamed “There’s a ‘roo in my room!”

“I thought: This can be really dangerous for the whole family now,” Mr Ettlin said. Despite only being clad in Bonds undies Mr Ettlin took on the frenzied marsupial as it lashed out.

As the intruder had jumped a backyard fence and then lept up 1.5m to break through the window. Mr Ettlin was left with shredded undies and the admiration of his wife. “I think he’s a hero: a hero in Bonds undies,” Verity Beman said.

Source: ‘Undies hero’ wrestles ‘roo out of house (The Australian)

Berno: I wonder if Pacific Brands would use this story for their next Bonds ad?

One thought on ““I had just my Bonds undies on. I felt vulnerable’ said Aussie Hero

  1. Not so sure about them using it in their next ad campaign given the reason sackings here in Australia. They’ve moved Bonds manufacturing overseas making them so “not” Australian😉

Leave a Reply

