An Internship with the Singapore Institute of International Affairs

Good news, friends! Since last month, I joined the Singapore Institute of International Affairs (SIIA) as an intern under the Eric Teo Global Citizens Internships programme. Founded in 1961, the SIIA is Singapore’s oldest think tank dedicated to the research, analysis and discussion of regional & international issues.

A unique feature of SIIA’s programmes is its commitment to public education including students and the general public population through events such as 938LIVE in NIE: What Does ASEAN Mean to You? (past) and the upcoming The Obama Administration’s First 100 Days forum (23 May 09).

During the last month with the organisation, I was introduced to the concept of “Track II diplomacy“, the various ASEAN foras, the various think tanks and special interests groups based in Singapore and the opportunity to be involved in the think tank’s flagship event – 2nd ASEAN & ASIA Forum.

I also enjoy the company I made within the organisation especially over lunch and tea discussion about philosophy and political/ economic theories. I am very grateful for the opportunity to be introduced to this environment before I return back to the university this July.

1-170409-asean-asia-form-singapore ray-berno-may-pre-aaf pauline-fan-berno-aaf-2009

8 thoughts on “An Internship with the Singapore Institute of International Affairs

  1. Hi,
    I’ve been looking into interning with the SIIA and came across your blog. It would be great if I could hear more about it straight from the horse’s mouth (i.e. what exactly is your job? how do you like it? etc). my email is k06hl01@kzoo.edu. Thanks!

  2. Hey! I just came across your blog. I am planning on applying for an internship with SIIA too, do you have any tips you could offer in terms of the application process and what the internship involves?

    I would really appreciate it!
    My email is veesha.chohan@gmail.com

    Thank you =)

  3. Hi! I am also trying to apply for the same internship program. any tips with the application process? It would be really helpful.
    Thanks!

  4. Hi!!
    Your experience sound great! I wanted to do internship with them too. Could you please give me any information or tips how to successfully apply?

    Thank you for your help!

    My email is: honzadar@seznam.cz

  5. Hello there! I’d like to know how I could apply for an internship at SIIA too! I am deeply interested in Politics and International Relations, so I’d be really grateful for your help🙂

Leave a Reply

