Does artistic licence extend beyond sacrilegious realms?



Today I was mildly offended by Dawn Ng’s Walter after visiting the Singapore Art Museum (SAM), the former St Joseph Institution.

I was fond of the rabbit installation when it was installed at 8Q SAM. But I was a bit offended when I saw the familiar inflatable rabbit lying in the centre spot on a platform which was the former site of an altar.

Does the artistic licence extend beyond sacrilegious realms? Where is the line drawn on such matters?

2 thoughts on “Does artistic licence extend beyond sacrilegious realms?

  1. “Why should anything be considered sacrilegious?” is, in my opinion, a more important question. My answer to my own question would be,” Nothing should be considered sacrilegious.”

    • You need to have some compassion for the people who are religious and respect the church. In all honesty it Is not right and something that represents purity should not be mixed with something of this world. It is respect and I hope we can atleast see right from wrong.

Leave a Reply

